Judges Announcement

You are here


Chair of Judge - Helena Kennedy QC

Helena Kennedy QC, one of Britain’s leading barristers,is today, 23 February, announced as Chair of the Judges for the 2007 BBC FOUR Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction. The prize is the UK’s richest and most prestigious non-fiction literary award.

Helena Kennedy is joined by a dynamic and eclectic panel of judges who offer a wide range of literary, journalistic and academic experience. They are scientist and broadcaster, Jim Al-Khalili; writer and editor, Diana Athill; historian and journalist, Tristram Hunt; and broadcaster and journalist, Mark Lawson.

Helena Kennedy comments:

“I am thrilled to be working with such an eclectic and multi-talented group of judges on what is the most important non-fiction prize in Britain today. We look forward to the next few months and the exciting discoveries we are sure to find.”

The prize, sponsored by BBC FOUR, aims to reward the best of non-fiction, from biography, travel and popular science to the arts and current affairs. BBC FOUR will televise the awards ceremony and feature complementary programming on the channel – forming a key part of their commitment to diverse, intelligent and culturally enriching programmes.

The BBC FOUR Samuel Johnson Prize is open to authors of all non-fiction books published in the UK, regardless of nationality. The longlist, which features approximately twenty titles, will be announced at the end of March. The shortlist of up to six titles will be announced on 3rd May at Foyles bookshop, London.

The judges will announce the winner of The BBC FOUR Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction at an awards dinner at The Savoy Hotel, London on Monday 18th June. The winner receives £30,000, and each of the five shortlisted authors, £1,000.

Prize year: 
site and contents © Samuel Johnson Prize 2016
build and design by Four Communications