The 2014 prize

You are here

The Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-Fiction is the UK's premier prize for non-fiction books.

This year’s longlist was announced on Thursday 9 October.

The six titles on this year’s shortlist are:

•           John Campbell, Roy Jenkins, Jonathan Cape

•           Marion Coutts, The Iceberg: A Memoir, Atlantic   

•           Greg Grandin, The Empire of Necessity, Oneworld

•           Alison Light, Common People, Fig Tree

•           Helen Macdonald, H is for Hawk, Jonathan Cape

•           Caroline Moorehead, Village of Secrets: Defying the Nazis in Vichy France, Chatto & Windus


The winner will be announced on Tuesday 4 November. 


Prize year:
site and contents © Samuel Johnson Prize 2014
build and design by Four Communications